## 19.6 Provinces and territories of Canada, dates of admission to Confederation, legislative processes by which admission was effected, present area and seat of government

Province, territory Date of or district admission or creation		Legislative process	Present area km²	Seat of provincial or territorial government	
Ontario 1	July 1, 1867	Act of Imperial Parliament - Constitution Act, 1867	1 068 580	Toronto	
Quebec <sup>2</sup>	July 1, 1867	(formerly The British North America Act, 1867)	1 540 680	Quebec	
Nova Scotia	July 1, 1867	(Br. Stat. 1867, c.3) and Imperial Order in	55 490	Halifax	
New Brunswick	July 1, 1867	Council, May 22, 1867	73 440	Fredericton	
Manitoba <sup>3</sup>	July 15, 1870	Manitoba Act, 1870 (SC 1870, c.3) and Imperial	10 344	, tractitude	
	3.30	Order in Council, June 23, 1870	649 950	Winnipeg	
British Columbia	July 20, 1871	Imperial Order in Council, May 16, 1871	947 800	Victoria	
Prince Edward Island	July 1, 1873	Imperial Order in Council, June 26, 1873	5 660	Charlottetown	
Saskatchewan <sup>4</sup>	Sept. 1, 1905	Saskatchewan Act (SC 1905, c.42)	652 330	Regina	
Alberta <sup>4</sup>	Sept. 1, 1905	Alberta Act (SC 1905, c.3)	661 190	Edmonton	
Newfoundland	Mar. 31, 1949	Newfoundland Act (formerly The British North			
		America Act, 1949) (Br. Stat. 1949, c.22)	405 720	St. John's	
Northwest Territories <sup>5</sup>	July 15, 1870	Act of Imperial Parliament-Rupert's Land Act, 1868 (Br. Stat. 1868, c.105) and Imperial Order			
	and the second	in Council, June 23, 1870	3 426 320	Yellowknife	
Mackenzie <sup>6</sup>	Jan. 1, 1920		1 382 740		
Keewatin <sup>6</sup>	Jan. 1, 1920 }	Order in Council, Mar. 16, 1918	600 590		
Franklin	Jan. 1, 1920 )		1 422 990		
Yukon Territory <sup>7</sup>	June 13, 1898	Yukon Territory Act, 1898 (SC 1898, c.6)	483 450	Whitehorse	
Canada			9 970 6108		

The area of Ontario was extended by the Ontario Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (SC 1912, c.40).

Extended by Quebec Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (SC 1912, c.45).

Extended by the Extension of Boundaries Act of Manitoba, 1881 and the Manitoba Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (SC 1912, c.32).

Saskatchewan and Alberta created as provinces in 1905 from the area formerly comprised in the provisional districts of Assiniboia, Athabaska Alberta and Saskatchewan established May 17, 1882 by minute of Canadian Privy Council concurred in by Dominion Parliament and Order in Council, Oct. 2, 1895.

By an Imperial Order in Council passed on June 23, 1870 pursuant to the Rupert's Land Act, 1868 (Br. Stat. 1868, c.105), the former territories of the Hudson's Bay Company known as Rupert's Land and the North-Western Territories were designated as the North-West Territories by the Act of SC 1869, c. 3, and as the Northwest Territories by RSC 1906, c. 62. By Imperial Order in Council of July 31, 1880 (effective Sept. 1, 1880), all British territories and possessions in North America not already included within Canada and all islands adjacent thereto (with the exception of the Colony of Newfoundland and its dependencies) were annexed to Canada and these addi-

and all islands adjacent thereto (with the exception of the Colony of Newfoundland and its dependencies) were annexed to Canada and these additional territories were formally included in the North-West Territories by SC 1905, c.27. The province of Manitoba was formed out of a portion of the territories by the Manitoba Act, 1870 (SC 1870, c.3) and a further portion was added to Manitoba in 1881 by SC 1881, c.14. The provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan were formed out of portions of the territories in 1905 and in 1912 other portions were added to Manitoba, Ontario and Quebec. By SC 1876, c.21, a separate district to be known as the District of Keewatin was established and provision was made for the local government thereof. The Act was expressed to come into force by proclamation. It provided that portions of the District might be re-annexed to the North-West Territories by proclamation; in 1886 a portion of the District of Keewatin was re-annexed and in 1905 the entire Keewatin District was re-annexed. The Act of 1876 was never proclaimed, By Order in Council of May 8, 1882 the provisional districts of Assimbioa, Saskatchewan, Alberta and Athabaska were created for the convenience of settlers and for postal purposes. By Order in Council of Oct. 2, 1895 the further provisional districts of Ungava, Franklin, Mackenzie and Yukon were created. The boundaries of these provisional districts were re-defined by Order in Council of Dec. 18, 1897. Subsequently the Yukon Territory was formed, the provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan were created and other portions of the North-West Territories were divided into three provisional districts known as Mackenzie, Kewatin and Franklin.

The provisional district of Yukon established in 1895 was created a judicial district of the North-West Territories by proclamation issued pursuant to Sect. 51 of the North-West Territories Act (SC 1898, c.6), was declared to be a separate territory.

be a separate territory.
Recalculated figures 1981.

19.7 Number of municipalities classified by type and size group, by province, as at Jan. 1, 1988

Year, type and size group	Nfld.	PEI	NS	NB	Que.	Ont.	Man.	Sask.	Alta.	BC	YT	NWT	Canada
POPULATION SIZE GROUP													
(1986 Census)													
Unitary municipalities													
100,000 and over	_	-	2	-	4	18	1	2	2	4	-	-	33
50,000 - 99,999	110		1	2	16	14		_	_	10	-	-	44
10,000 - 49,999	4	1	18	4	80	81	4	7	18	29	I.	1	248
Under 10,000	165	85	45	108	1,400	679	179	812	325	101	7	7	3,913
Total	170	86	66	114	1,500	792	184	821	345	144	8	- 8	4,238
1988													
TYPE													
Regional municipalities	-	-	-	3-0	98	39	_	-	-	28	_	-	165
Metropolitan and regional						1.00							
municipalities 1	-	-	-	1	3	12	-	-	-	-	-		15
Counties and regional													
districts	-	-	_	-	95	27		_	_	28	-	_	150
Unitary municipalities	170	86	66	114	1,500	792	184	821	345	144	8	8	4,238